Saturday, 10 December 2022


Hello friends, I am Ashish Pandey once again sharing very useful information with you guys , which is a department related to airports in the country and run by the Government of India, which few people know about.

Directorate general of civil aviation
#Directorate General of Civil Aviation

  The Directorate General of Civil Aviation is a statutory body constituted under the Aircraft (Amendment) Bill, 2020.  This directorate constitutes rules and laws related to airports, aviation operating throughout the country.
It is the regulatory body of India.  Which approves air traffic operated throughout the country.

  It is headquartered in Sri Aurobindo Marg, opposite Safdarjung Airport in New Delhi.  The Indian government is planning to replace the organization created on the lines of the American Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) with a Civil Aviation Authority (CAA).

In the future, Indian civil aviation will benefit at the world level air transport and educational level.  And its only main objective is to try to promote safe and efficient air transport through the regulation and proactive safety inspection system so that the entire system can run smoothly.

There are many such works of Directorate General of Civil Aviation but I am informing you about some important works -:
  1) Registration of civil aircraft
2) Airports Certification
3) License of pilots, aircraft maintenance engineers, air traffic controllers and flight engineers, and conduct examinations and investigations for that purpose.

4) Formation of standards of airworthiness for civil aircraft registered in India and providing airworthiness certificate to such aircraft.

5) Checks on the efficiency of flight crew and other operational personnel such as flight dispatchers and cabin crew.

6) Approval of institutes engaged in flight training, including simulator training, AME training, air traffic service training or any other training related to aviation, ensuring high quality of training.

7) Approval and continuous inspection of aircraft maintenance, repair, design and manufacturing organizations.

8) To approve the training programs of operators for the transportation of dangerous goods, issue of authorization for the transportation of dangerous goods.

9) To check the security status of all institutions approved / certified / licensed under Aircraft Rules 1937.

The department
  The Directorate General of Civil Aviation is classified and divided in the following way:
  Directorate of administration
  Aerodrome standards directorate
  Air safety directorate
  Air transport directorate
  Flight Standards Directorate
  Directorate of information and regulation
  Directorate of aircraft engineering
  Flight training directorate
  Directorate of training and licensing

Regional office
Reasional office
The Directorate General of Civil Aviation has fourteen Regional Airline Offices (RAO) at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Kochi, Bhopal, Lucknow, Patna, Bhubaneswar, Kanpur, Guwahati and Patiala.  Its five regional air safety offices are located in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Hyderabad.  It has a regional research and development office in Bangalore and a gliding center in Pune. 

Airports Authority of India
#Airport Authority of India

The Airports Authority of India or AAI is a statutory body (created through the Airports Authority of India, 1994) functioning under the Ministry of Civil Aviation, the Government of India is responsible for the construction, upgrade, maintenance and management of civil aviation infrastructure.  It provides communication navigation monitoring / air traffic management (CNS / ATM) services in Indian airspace and adjoining sea areas.  It also manages a total of 126 airports, including 11 international airports, 11 customs airports, 89 domestic airports, and 26 civil enclaves at military airports.

AAI-Training Institute:
  AAI has five training establishments, including three ATS training organizations (ATSTO).  1) Civil Aviation Training College (CATC) in Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh, 2) Training Center Hyderabad (HTC) in Hyderabad and 3) National Aviation Training and Management Institute (NIATAM) in Gondia, Maharashtra.  Other training centers are 4) Indian Aviation Academy (National Aviation Management and Research Institute (NIAMAR) in Delhi (Joint Venture of Airports Authority of India, Directorate General of Civil Aviation (India) and Civil Aviation Safety Bureau, Government of India) India) and 5) Delhi  And Fire Training Center (FTC) in Kolkata.

Ministry of Civil Aviation
  #Ministry of civil aviation

The Ministry of Civil Aviation, Government of India, is the nodal ministry responsible for formulating national policies and programs for the development and regulation of civil aviation, and for implementing and implementing plans for the development and regulation of civil aviation.  Its functions also include monitoring of airport facilities, air traffic services and the movement of passengers and cargo.

  An airport is an aerodrome with extended facilities, mostly for commercial air transport.  Airports often have facilities to store and maintain aircraft, and a control tower.  An airport has a landing area, including at least one operationally active surface including an air-accessible open space, such as an aircraft flying or runway to a helipad, and often a control tower, hangar.  And adjacent utility buildings such as terminals.  .  Larger airports may have airport aprons, taxiway bridges, air traffic control centers, passenger facilities such as restaurants and lounges, and emergency services.  In some countries, especially the US, airports also have one or more fixed-base operators, who perform general aviation services.

Total airports in India
  A total of 486 airports, flight schools and military bases are available in the country.
  123 airports with some scheduled flights with dual airplanes and military access.
  And there are a total of 34 international airports

Airport range
Category Description

1) Custom - Airport facilities with customs check and clearance are facilities dealing with international flights, but have not elevated the status of international airports.
2) Defense- Indian Armed Forces Handle Airport 3) Domestic - handles domestic flights
4) Future - Proposed or under construction
5) International - handles international flights 6) Private - Airport for specific purposes

International Airport
Rajabhoj International Airport (Bhopal)

Shri Guru Ramdas Ji International Airport, Amritsar (Punjab)

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel International Airport, Ahmedabad (Gujarat)

Cochin International Airport, Cochin (Kerala)

Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport, Kolkata (West Bengal)

Gopinath Bardalai International Airport, Guwahati (Assam)

Chennai (Tamil Nadu) Anna International Airport

Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, Mumbai (Maharashtra)

Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi (Delhi)

Rajiv Gandhi International Airport, Hyderabad (Andhra Pradesh)

Campegowda International Airport, Bangalore, (Karnataka)

Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport, Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)

Devi Ahilya Bai International Airport [(Indore)]

There are many other airports which are not in the list.
Do read the information shared by us and give your views in the comment box.

Thank you